Log in

Vermont Professional

Print Awards

George R. Read Award

This award is awarded to the maker of the image which best typifies Vermont. The award is named for George Read, father of Margaret Read Rother. Margaret Rother is a Past President of VPP and a National Award Recipient. Her father came to love Vermont and its people so much that the Rother family established this award in the early 70’s

Past Winners of the George R. Read Award

  • 2021 Kelly Schulze
  • 2020 Jonathan Adams
  • 2019 Matthew Payeur
  • 2018 Jonathan Adams
  • 2017 Matthew Payeur
  • 2016 Matthew Payeur
  • 2015 Sarah McGarghan
  • 2014 Matthew Payeur
  • 2013 Orah Moore
  • 2012 Don Whipple
  • 2011 Don Whipple
  • 2010 Don Whipple
  • 2009 Don Whipple
  • 2008 Don Whipple
  • 2007 Gillian Randall

Mack Derick Memorial Award

The Mack Derick Memorial Award was established in 1994 to give members a continuing incentive to create and enter images of their own production. The award is in memory of one of the founders of Vermont Professional Photographers and a lifelong craftsman of the photographic arts.

Any member of VPP may enter one print annually in the Mack Derick Memorial competition. Each entry must be wholly of the maker’s own production, (with the exception of color first generation processing) from the negative through the finished, mounted print including all retouching or enhancement. Judging shall be on the same basis as the VPP Annual Image Competition. The prints shall receive 3 points if scored 80 or above, 2 points if above 75, or 1 point if above 73. In order to receive the Mack Derick Print Award, the competitor must enter annually until 9 points have been awarded. If the competitor misses a year, the point total returns to zero and the count starts over.

Past Winners of the Mack Derick Memorial Award

  • 2009 Chris Wideawake
  • 2001 Matthew Payeur
  • 2000 Wayne S. Tarr
  • 1999 Arnold Spahn
  • 1999 Barry Hayes
  • 1998 Robert C. Jenks
  • 1998 Charles A. Parker

Vermont Professional Photographers info@vtprophoto.org

© 2022 Vermont Professional Photographers. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software